Art of Electronics interview of Paul Horowitz

Ladyada interviews Paul Horowitz.

8 Likes

I think it’s worth mentioning that there are a number of counterfeit copies of the Art Of Electronics 3rd Edition out there of dubious quality.

If you are looking to buy this excellent reference book beware of where you buy it from.

1 Like

Good to know this. Luckily when I bought mine it was from Amazon before all the counterfeit copies became available. I got my copy soon after they were released (Revision 3). It’s not a book you really read from cover to cover as I prefer to choose a topic and read that if there is anything in there I need to learn about first, I jump to that section first. Great reference book though for those interested in electronics and want to know more.

1 Like

@ Dave McLaughlin - My question is whether the book is approachable for those of us who didn’t come up through an EE degree or similar training (i.e. - the mostly self-taught hardware hackers who get by OK, but are occasionally intimidated by datasheets)? It seems like it would be an awesome reference to have, but at north of $80, it would be a shame if it simply collected dust because it was too dense to be useful.

Good points.

@ devhammer - Of all the electronics books I’ve worked with this is far and away the most useful and approachable. You don’t need to be an engineer to find this book useful. I have the first edition from my college days (no quite written on stone tablets but close) and still use it as a reference. Just about anyone with an interest can read and understand the material and as Dave says, you don’t need to read the whole thing to get useful information on one topic of interest. Given the cost of college text books today, if you can get a copy of the latest edition for $80 it would be a steal.

1 Like

@ Gene - Thanks. Appreciate the feedback!

:slight_smile: