Anlog vs i2c question

Hello,

I am wondering if anyone has some suggestions concerning connection of 2 analog sensors (with 6 analog inputs) to the Panda II.

I have been playing around with the i2C Adxl345 from sparkfun and I am wondering if it is even possible for me to get a sample rate of 2 kHz over the i2c.

If I cannot get this sample rate then I need to go back to analog sensors in which case I need 6 analog inputs (2 times x,y,z).

Any suggestions?

two things.

Do you need 2khz? Please justify :slight_smile:

How much other processing do you need to do of the data (that often is a bigger impact on overall sample rate irrespective of platform)

OK, three things.

Have you tried? If so, how fast did you get? I love the fact that Fez is quick to test this and to push the envelope to see how plausible that rate is for your use.

Well I am studying mechanical vibrations where the frequency may exceed 1 kHz. So 2 kHz is the minimum. All I need is to read the values and write them to an SD card. I have managed to do this with an analog sensor. The problem is the choice of analog sensors I have been able to find ready made are +/- 3g which is lower than the expected g rating. Perhaps I need to buy a surface mounted chip and do some soldering…

I have the ADXL345 using I2C and it works now but I have not measured the read times but I suspect it will not get close to these values. I am a noob in NETMF but I am learning fast. I suspect for my application I will need to explore RLP.

The only to do this would be by reading multiple samples using RLP and buffering them and then later flush to an SD card. But I am afraid you will not have enough RAM to do much buffering.

Thanks Gus,